Spinach and Chickpeas Soup with Pearl Couscous

Spinach and Chickpeas Soup with Pearl Couscous

Spinach and Chickpeas Soup with Pearl Couscous

 

Growing up my mother always made soup. She would make a big pot for us to eat for days. Regardless of the weather, I still love a bowl of soup, because it reminds me of home. This recipe is very simple but incredibly tasty, made with tomatoes, pearl couscous, chickpeas, spinach, and spices. I finished the soup with some lemon juice, fresh parsley and lemon zest which gives the soup an extra twist. This is a filling and comforting soup that is still suitable for a late spring/early summer meal. I really liked the results. It was filling but left me feeling nourished, not stuffed. I served it with the crusty bread and a smokey ham. Enjoy!

I am bringing a big pot of soup to Angie’s Fiesta Friday today!

You can find me on Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Google+, and Twitter. Let’s stay in touch!

Spinach and Chickpeas Soup with Pearl Couscous

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon sweet smoked paprika
  • 1 15 oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 quart low sodium vegetable or chicken stock
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cup uncooked pearl couscous
  • 2 cups baby spinach, packed
  • 1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon or to taste
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Lemon zest to serve (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and onion, and cook, stirring frequently, until onions have become translucent, about 2-3 minutes.
  2. Stir in thyme, rosemary and smoked paprika until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  3. Add crushed tomatoes. Whisk in vegetable stock, bay leaves and bring to a boil.
  4. Stir in couscous, reduce heat and simmer until couscous is tender, about 8-10 minutes.
  5. Stir in baby spinach and chickpeas beans and cook until the spinach has wilted, about 2 minutes.
  6. Stir in lemon juice and parsley; season with salt and pepper, to taste. Top with lemon zest if desired.

22 thoughts on “Spinach and Chickpeas Soup with Pearl Couscous

  1. This soup looks warm and soul warming. I will give it a try this weekend. Thank you for sharing…..Zeba

  2. This sounds delicious – so many of my favourite ingredients in one, and I LOVE soup. (I literally once wrote an entire blog post dedicated to how much I love soup!) Pearl couscous (I think it is also called Israeli or giant couscous here in the UK) is amazing, I find it quite tricky to find here except in health food shops but whenever I do I buy several bags! Now I have another great recipe to use them in! Thank you so much for sharing on Fiesta Friday.
    P.S. I just made the mistake of following you on Instagram and I am now drooling over your beautiful food photos! So much deliciousness!! 😉

    • Thanks Anna! So happy you liked my post! I actually love soup as well! Pearl couscous and Israli couscous is the same but if you can’t find it you can use small pasta like orzo. It works well in this recipe. Thank you for stopping by:) Olga xx

Leave a Reply

