Mexican Inspired Vegetarian Burgers

Mexican Inspired Veggie Burgers

Mexican Inspired Veggie Burgers

I wanted to make veggie burgers for a long time, but every time I mention it to my carnivorous husband, I get the eye roll, so I knew if I was going to make them, they had to be amazing! My initial thought was something Middle Eastern inspired, but the more I thought about the ingredients, the more I began to lean “south of the border.” I make Mexican food about once a week, so I started with a base of beans and expanded into all my favorites ingredients. I decided to roast corn first with onion, garlic and spices to give it a more toasty flavor. I wanted to have some texture in my veggie burger, so I mashed half of the beans and left another half as it is. The burgers are very tender, but they don’t have a texture of a ‘baby food’ because of the whole beans and corn. Finally, I seared the burgers in a hot oiled pan to give them a beautiful brown crust and serve them with salsa sauce.

Mexican Inspired Veggie Burgers

Mexican Inspired Veggie Burgers

 

 

Mexican Inspired Vegetarian Burgers

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 45 min
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cup corn kernels, shaved from 2 ears corn
  • 1/2 cup red onion, diced
  • 2 garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon sweet paprika
  • 1 jalapeno chili, seeded and chopped
  • 2 15 oz. cans black beans, rinsed and divided
  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers, chopped (I used store-bought from a jar)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup feta cheese
  • Oil for frying
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Salsa sauce (I didn’t take measurements, just adjust to your taste)

  • Sour cream
  • Salsa
  • fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 400 F.
  2. Toss the corn, garlic, onions, jalapeno, garlic, chili powder, cumin, oregano, sweet paprika in a large bowl. Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and toss to coat. Arrange the corn mixture in a single layer in the prepared pan and roast the vegetables until tender and golden brown, about 15 to 20 minutes. Note: You can sauté corn in a pan but I prefer roasting them in the oven. I think the taste is better.
  3. Let the corn mixture cool to room temperature or a little warmer.
  4. While veggies are roasting, in a large bowl add half of black beans and mash with a masher.
  5. Next, add the rest of the beans, cooled corn mixture, lime juice, and cilantro. Mix until coated.
  6. Add in the eggs, cheese and bread crumbs and mix just until incorporated. Let the batter rest for 15 minutes in the refrigerator.
  7. In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil until shimmering.
  8. Scoop a 1/2 cup of mixture into the palm of your hand and gently shape into a burger. The mixture should hold a burger shape. If it doesn’t add 1 tablespoons more of bread crumbs.
  9. Fry over medium heat, adding more oil when necessary, turning the patties once, until browned and crisp, about 3-5 minutes per side.
  10. Serve with salsa sauce.

26 thoughts on “Mexican Inspired Vegetarian Burgers

  1. Wonderful burgers! My husband was a vegetarian for many years, and I always tried to create different burgers using beans mostly and grains. Your Mexican variety wins hands down!

Leave a Reply

