Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

My husband just came back from Shanghai on another trip to China. He goes so many times that we have a ritual upon his return. After a few weeks of Chinese food, I try to make home something overtly western. This time, I decided to make lamb rib chops. Nothing says welcome back to the west like lamb.

image

Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

 

 

I used lamb ribs, because they are the absolute most tasty cuts to make chops. I marinaded them for 24 hours and then grilled it to perfection. I marinaded the meat in lemon and orange juice, yogurt, onions, garlic and fresh rosemary. These the best when marinaded for at least 24 hours and up to 2 days before grilling. The lamb ribs chops are cooked just long enough to be seared on the outside and juicy inside. This was the best lamb ribs chops I ever had. Tender, juicy and packed with flavors!

image

Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 6 single lamb chops (French cut) ~ 1.5 pounds

Marinade:

  • 1 small onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • Orange zest and juice of 1 orange
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon sea salt or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped

Directions:

  1. Rinse the lamb rib chops and pat dry throughly with paper towels.
  2. Combine all the ingredients for the marinade in a large container. Rub the rib chops throughly on both sides with marinade. Cover and marinade for at least 24 hours in the refrigerator. Turn the chops once during this time.
  3. Preheat grill on high heat. Oil the grill. Grill for 4-6 minutes on each side, turning occasionally. The meat should be seared on the outside and juicy on the inside.
  4. Serve lamb rib chops with roasted potatoes, grilled vegetables or salad.

image

Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

Enjoy!!!

25 thoughts on “Lamb Ribs Chops with Citrus, Yogurt and Rosemary

    • Thank you so much Ronit! These were the best lamb chops I ever made:) so tender and juicy and tons of flavor! I always try to marinade the meat for at least 24 hrs. Thanks for stopping by! Olga x

  1. My Goodness Olga this is a fabulous welcoming dish!! They looks so moist and tender…and I just had some cooked broccoli😢I hope you’re having a lovely weekend xx

  2. Lamb is a favorite and your recipe sounds delicious. Rosemary is such a good herb paired with lamb and yes it is a grilling recipe. I am on a grilling kick as the weather is starting to get nicer. Thanks for another recipe to try 🙂

  3. Ho Olga – I thought I was one of only a few lamb rib fans – your recipe looks fantastic, and a great tip for me is to marinade them longer – as I usually marinade for only 6 hours or so…..

  4. yogurt!! I never thought to use yogurt! I’ve always marinated mine in chopped garlic (a lot. like enough to make you pass out) and then rosemary. ❤ but this seems like a really cool and different taste!

Leave a Reply

