Flank Steak and Warm Brussels Sprouts Salad with Bacon Vinaigrette

image


I made this delicious brussels sprouts salad to go alongside a grilled flank steak few nights ago and we devoured it. Yummy, crunchy brussels sprouts make the perfect side dish to burgers or meats. Brussels Sprouts is one of those vegetables, people either love or hate. We love brussels sprouts and I always looking for new recipes. The trick to delicious brussels sprouts is to leave them a bit crunchy and add great flavors. This recipe combines brussels sprouts that are cooked until golden brown and crisp, then tossed with a touch of balsamic vinegar, honey, bacon and almonds. Well, what about steak? Flank steak is marinated in a flavorful blend of soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, chili powder, ground cumin, garlic and brown sugar and then grilled to perfection. This is one of my favorite steak marinades this summer! What’s yours?

Flank Steak and Warm Brussels Sprouts Salad with Bacon Vinaigrette

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1-1 1/2 pound beef flank steak

Flank Steak Marinade:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, grated
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar

Brussels sprouts:

  • 1 pound Brussels sprouts, cut into quarters
  • 4 slices applewood-smoked bacon
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • Salt, ground black pepper to taste
  • Red bell pepper, grilled and sliced (optional)
  • 1/4 cup unsalted almonds, chopped (optional)
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped

Directions:

Grilled Flank Steak:

  1. In a small bowl combine the steak marinade ingredients. Rub the marinade over steak on both sides. Marinate in the refrigerator for 4 hours or better overnight.
  2. Preheat the grill on high heat. Place the meat on the hot grill and do not touch it for 3 minutes. After 3 minutes are up, turn the meat over and cook for another 3 minutes. This should give you medium rare on the ends and rare in the middle. If you prefer it a little more done, increase the cooking time on each side to 4 minutes. Do not over cook as the steak will be tough. The meat should be seared on the outside, pink and juicy on the inside.
  3. Grill the pepper at the same time until the skin is brown and blistered, about 1-2 minutes on each side.
  4. When the meat is done, remove it from the grill and place it on the cutting board. Let it rest for at least 5 minutes before slicing.

Brussels Sprouts:

  1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add bacon to pan; cook about 5 minutes or until crisp, turning occasionally. Remove bacon from pan, reserving 2 tablespoons drippings in pan; set bacon aside.
  2. Reduce heat to medium-low; add brussels sprouts; cook about 4-5 min stirring occasionally. The veggies should be tender, yet still have a bite. Add balsamic vinegar, honey, salt and pepper, stirring well to combine. Cover and cook for another minute. Add grilled pepper if using. Sprinkle evenly with bacon, almonds and fresh parsley. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

image

 

36 thoughts on “Flank Steak and Warm Brussels Sprouts Salad with Bacon Vinaigrette

  1. Delicious! I love flank steak – you can do so much with it and it always tastes great. Love the warm brussels sprouts with it too – for colour and taste 😉

  2. I’m eating some carrots now- I said I’m trying to be vegetarian right?- and I’m thinking why am I having these carrots??Anytime I visit your blog my whole effort is wasted 🙂 and seriously now, this steak looks really good, I lived in Ireland for many years and they know how to make good steak, and frankly the one like yours I’ve seen only on a few occasions and in good restaurants. You can be proud of yourself :-)xx

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Marta! Sorry about the vegetarian effort, but I am glad that you liked the recipe:) I try to eat more veg meals but I don think I can give up meat:) thanks for stopping by!

  3. What a wonderful dish that is!!!! It looks delicious & wonderfully captured on the beef 🙂

    Since you & I love to learn more about food photography, may I suggest you take top view angle photos as well? Your dish is so colourful, I think it would also be lovely to see everything from top view 🙂 huge hugs

  4. I have to tell you Oceanview….I am officially jealous of your plates and recipes. I am a short order cook, you are a chef! I would like to re-blog some of your dishes, add up the calories and but them on my blog. You would receive full credit and a link. I love Nandini’s blog too, Goan Cooking. I envy those at your dinner table. Let me know if that is okay. I would probably only use one photo and count calories. You know me, speedy speedy.

Leave a Reply

