Miracle Drink

image


Let’s talk juice… I typically like to keep my juice fruity to make it more enjoyable but lately I was looking for more ideas to incorporate veggies into my fruity juices. About a month ago I came across the “Superfood Juices” book by Julie Morris which inspired this recipe. This drink is loaded with all kind of goodness. Beets and oranges offer rich amounts of antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals. Drinking beet juice helps lower blood pressure, and even enhance athletic performance. Buckthorn is consider to be a beauty berries. Tart and slightly sweet, reminds the taste of lemon and honey. These orange berries have high concentration of vitamins A and C, and omega 7 essential fatty acids, which promote skin health. I added a small amount of cashew nuts to create milkier juice and also balance flavors. So to sum it up, this “miracle” drink promotes immune system strength, energy, detoxification, skin clarity and prevents the signs of aging, and it turned out seriously delicious! I am bringing this healthy and refreshing drink to Fiesta Friday hosted by Angie. As always, make sure to check out this week recipes! Happy Friday!

Miracle Drink

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium beet, scrubbed and trimmed
  • 2 large oranges, peeled
  • 1 tablespoon sea buckthorn powder ( I buy it online at ww.livesuperfoods.com; if its not available to you, you can add a little bit of lemon juice and honey instead to get a similar flavor)
  • 1/4 cup unsalted raw cashews
  • 8 ice cubes

Directions:

Juice the beet and the oranges. Than transfer the juice to a blender, add buckthorn powder, cashews and ice cubes. Blend well and enjoy! Serve with more ice if desired.

Note: If you don’t own a juicer, you can use blender instead.  Chop or dice your produce well and place it in the blender with the most watery and juicy produce closest to the blades. If the blender struggles, add water, a little at a time and blend until a pulpy smoothie. Use nut milk bag or two layers of cheesecloth and squeeze it by hand to strain the juice over the bowl.

 

35 thoughts on “Miracle Drink

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #21 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Thanks for bringing something so healthy and refreshing!!! I mean, I brought DOG treats to FF- so people will really appreciate this drink that’s not only for humans (ha) but has so many health benefits. Educational too! Thanks so much!

  3. Well, I know that all of us from time to time are in need of a miracle! There’s no time like now, so I’ll take a tall glass of your miracle drink right now! Thanks so much for thinking of our heath tonight here at FF! I feel zippier already! 😀

  4. I have the same book “Superfood Smoothies” and a Hurom juicer that I do not use very much. Maybe I need to bring it up from the basement and try using it again with your recipe 🙂 Do you have her “Superfood Kitchen” book?

    • Yes, I have her “superfood kitchen” book as well. She has some interesting ideas and I have been using superfood powders in smoothies, juices and cooking. You should defiantly bring up your juicer from the basement and start using it again:)

  5. This is indeed the “Miracle Drink.” The colour is so vibrant, and the ingredients have prepared me for the Summer; I love love it 🙂

  6. Pingback: 50 Detox Drinks to Reboot Your System & Lose Weight

Leave a Reply

