Chicken Kebab with Plum and Citrus Marinade

image

It’s been awhile since I made kebabs, so last weekend I decided to try a new recipe for my chicken kebabs. What makes the kebabs perfect is the marinade that is used to tenderize and add flavor to the meat. The acid in the marinade causes the meat tissue fibers to start to break down. This tenderizes the meat and allows more liquid to be absorbed and penetrate further into the meat and makes the meat more tender and juicier when cooked. The key components of marinades are acids, oils, natural tenderizing enzymes, herb spices and other flavors. Citrus juices are the main acids that I like to use in my marinades. For oil, I decided to use a little bit of tahini sauce. Prunes softens and tenderizes meat protein in this case. Herb spices – the variety is up to you, I decide to use fresh herbs like parsley, cilantro and mint for this dish and a little bit of cardamon. Pomegranate molasses add both acid and sweetness at the same time, making the marinade more exotic. I also added a little bit of red pepper flakes for a bit of heat. I would recommend to marinade the chicken overnight for better taste. The recipe is super easy only requires a little bit of planning to allow the chicken to marinade overnight. I also like to baste the meat when I am grilling and then after to keep the meat moist and also to add more flavor. All the flavors came together nicely making this chicken moist and tender with subtle, but exotic taste. The summer is here, lets start grilling!

Serves: 4-6

Preparation time: 20 minutes plus 1 day of marinating

Cooking time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 2-inch cubes

Marinade:

  • 1 small onion, peeled and cut into 4
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup prunes, pitted
  • Juice and lime zest of 2 medium limes
  • 1 tablespoon tahini sauce
  • 3/4 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes or to taste
  • 1 tablespoon pomegranate molasses
  • 1/2 cup fresh herbs( parsley, cilantro )
  • 2 tablespoons fresh mint leaves
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt or to taste
  • freshly ground pepper or to taste

Baste:

  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon pomegranate molasses

Directions:

  1. Combine all the ingredients for the marinade in the food processor and pulse it to grind. Pour over the meat, toss, and marinade for at least 8 hours and up to 24 hours in the refrigerator.
  2. Preheat grill on high heat. In a small saucepan, heat the basting mixture over low heat. Keep it warm.
  3. Shake off the marinade so it doesn’t burn during grilling. Thread 4-5 pieces of chicken onto each skewer.
  4. Place the skewers on the grill and cook for 8-10 minutes, turning frequently until done. The chicken is done when the juice that runs out is yellow rather than pink.
  5. Remove the chicken from the grill and place it on the plate. Paint the chicken with the basting mixture again. Remove the chicken from the skewers. Garnish with limes and fresh herbs. Serve immediately with grilled vegetables, lavash bread and fresh herbs.

Enjoy!

image

This will be my entry for Fiesta Friday this week!

61 thoughts on “Chicken Kebab with Plum and Citrus Marinade

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #16 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Ohhhhhhhhhh……… I know what we’re making next time we grill, I am SO excited to try these… we’re always on the lookout for a good marinade so I’m really happy you brought these to the party today!!! Thank you!– And have a great weekend too. 🙂

  3. Wow!!! love this, and just in time for summer. Pomegranate molasses, mint leaves, tahini sauce, to name just a few, such fresh, earthy ingredients……top that with an ocean view kitchen, heavens above, it’s inspiration on a plate!!!

  4. Sounds so tangy and fruity and delicious! Wonderful for grilling season! I have to decide if I will make this or your Middle Eastern Chicken first now…. 🙂 Yum!

    • Thanks! I enjoy tangy and fruity marinades with a bit of heat. I discovered pomegranate molasses few months ago and now it’s one of my favorite ingredients. Thanks for stopping by:)

  5. What an interesting and delicious recipe! These kebabs look perfect, and a great contribution to the kebab loving crowd at Fiesta Friday. Have a lovely weekend!

  6. Hi Olga – your kebabs looks soooo delicious, I am not surprised that they are a favourite of your husband’s! The marinade has a lot of flavour – I have never thought of using prunes before! Great dish for Fiesta Friday!

  7. Yum! These look absolutely delicious! I must admit that I actually like prunes (it’s not too common among my friends), so I can’t wait to try this out. Thanks for bringing them to the fiesta! 🙂

    • Thanks, I hope you do! This my second recipe where I used prunes to marinade chicken and both were delicious. My husband doesn’t really like prunes but he loved this marinade! Thanks for stopping by:)

  8. Pingback: Slow-Roasted Pork with Citrus and Garlic + Top 5 2014 posts | Ocean View Kitchen

Leave a Reply

