Spring Salad with Ginger Dressing

image

Now that spring is officially here I have been thinking about salads more. Something refreshing and crisp, and most importantly, green! I thought I’d share a spring salad I threw together for lunch the other day – mixed greens, endives, fresh corn, pea shoots, avocado, shaved carrots and sunflower seeds. Simple preparation and fresh ingredients makes this salad perfect for spring. The healthy ginger dressing is a combination of fresh orange and lemon juice, tahini, dates, champaign vinegar, and grated ginger, worked beautifully for me. This salad leaves you feeling satisfied and nicely full! The oranges were from my tree and they were really sweet so i used 3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to get the right balance, but you can adjust to your taste. I hope you would enjoy this simple, healthy and delicious salad! 

Serves 4-6
Ingredients:

For salad:

  • 8 cups mix greens
  • 1 Belgian endive, leaves separated, washed and dried
  • 1 carrot, thinly shaved
  • 1 ear fresh corn, husked
  • 1 ripe Hass avocado, seeded, peeled and sliced
  • 1 handful pea shoots or sunflower sprouts
  • 1/4 cup unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup dried goji berries (optional; or cranberries )

For Ginger Dressing:
Yield: approx 2/3 cup

  • 1/2 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
  • 3 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon tahini
  • 1 tablespoon champagne vinegar
  • 2 large medjool dates
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated ginger
  • Salt, pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Blend all dressing ingredients well in a high speed blender, scaping down sides to incorporate. Pour into a salad dressing bottle and enjoy. This dressing will keep well for up to 3 days.
  2. Place the goji berries into a small bowl or glass and pour the hot water over them. Steep for 30 minutes or longer, until the goji berries are plump. Strain the berries for salad.
  3. Shear off the corn kernels with a sharp knife over a bowl.
  4. Use a Y-shaped vegetable peeler to shave the carrots into thin, even slices.
  5. Start with a generous portion of each and pile on a dinner sized plate to serve one.
  6. Pour the ginger dressing over the salad and toss to coat. Enjoy immediately!

This will be my entry for Fiesta Friday this week.

33 thoughts on “Spring Salad with Ginger Dressing

  1. The salad looks delicious…nothing like beautiful fresh produce to inspire a healthy lunch. But it’s the dressing…that dressing, yum! It sounds fabulous, light and flavorful. Thanks for sharing your recipe. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

  3. This looks so yummy!! I wish we weren’t going into winter here, I feel like I haven’t had my share of delicious salads like this!! Next nice day we get I’ll be trying this!

  4. I love the way you composed this salad, that is just how I like to do my salads, then mix it all up. This dressing sounds really up my alley, I almost always use a tahini lemon base to my salad dressing, but with dates? Mmmmm!

  5. That is one fresh and delicious salad! I love that you’ve added goji berries and pea sprouts, and used a ginger dressing. These flavours guarantee I will love this, and I’m sure everyone at Fiesta Friday will too!! 😀

  6. Loving that dressing! I’ll be trying that out, as I have dates to use up. Besides, anything to do with ginger is a must. Having said that, I’ve never used it in a dressing before. And I can imagine a version of this would be good with a stir-fry.

    • Thanks, I hope you do! You can use it for stir-fry as well but I would add some soy sauce, a little bit of garlic and something to add a bit of heat like chili pepper or red pepper flakes. Then, I think it will be perfect for stir-fry!

  7. This salad looks beautiful! Healthy and flavorful. I’ve not had a ginger dressing before and am eager to try this. I bring a salad most days for lunch and look forward to trying this soon!

Leave a Reply

